'Ocarina of Time' live orchestral album releases Mar. 27

'Ocarina of Time' live orchestral album releases Mar. 27 MATERIA COLLECTIVE

After a successful Kickstarter campaign in which more than one thousand backers pledged more than $20K to make Materia Collective's plans come to life, "Hero of Time", a re-imagining of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time's soundtrack, will soon be coming out.

Scheduled to release Mar. 27 digitally via services like Spotify and iTunes as well as a limited edition CD, "Hero of Time" features a full 64-piece orchestra the most poignant moments from the game.  Materia Collective says that a vinyl release is also in the works and that format will be coming out courtesy of iam8bit in the coming months.

"Orchestral recordings of music from The Legend of Zelda have become increasingly popular over the last several years," notes arranger and project director Eric Buchholz.  "With Hero of Time, we sought to create a single, cohesive experience that weaves all of the complex underlying themes of the game, like impermanence and mortality, with Koji Kondo's timeless melodies that have become as iconic as the game itself. The orchestration takes an 'east-meets-west' approach, with the inclusion of taiko ensembles, eastern woodwinds, and harmonies found prevalent in Japanese film and game scores."

Late last year Buchholz and Materia Collective founder Sebastian Wolff chatted with GeekNifty about the album back when it was still in its planning and fundraising stages.  You can click here to read their Q&A.

In "Hero of Time" LoZ fans will get to relive some of their favorite memories from the game like riding through Hyrule field for the first time, meeting the angelic Princess Zelda, exploring the Lost Woods, facing off against the vile Ganon, and discovering all the hidden ocarina melodies hidden throughout the album.

Below is the album's full track list:

  1. Hero of Time
  2. The Man with Evil Eyes
  3. Fateful Morning
  4. Hyrule Field
  5. Castle Town Market
  6. Princess Zelda
  7. Lon Lon Ranch
  8. Dungeon Dwellers
  9. The Legendary Blade
  10. Seven Years
  11. Sheik
  12. Memories of the Forest
  13. Feast for the Fire Dragon
  14. Dark Waters
  15. Village of the Shadows
  16. Spirit of the Valley
  17. Courage, Wisdom, and Light
  18. Ganon's Tower
  19. Great King of Evil
  20. The Desecration of Power
  21. Epilogue ~ End Credits

Materia Collective was founded in 2015 and exists to connect musicians, create opportunities and outlets for those musicians, and act as a liaison between creators, artists, and performers in the world of video game music on an international level.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

GeekNifty.com - A site run by geeks for geeks.